August 27th was a long day. One of the best ever! We decided to run the fish lake relayback in July when we ran the liberty 5k in richfield.

Our team name – slower than cold tar sponsored by Blake electric co.

Team: Slower than Cold Tar

Start time: 6:30am

I was excited to run but nervous for my knee. My first run was practically up hill and surprisingly my knee did not hurt as bad as my calf muscles.

My knee on the second run was ok to start off. I could tell there was pain but bearable. About 1 or 1.5 mileage into this run the pain became excruciating. With about 3 miles to go it felt like the energy in my knee went out. Each step sent a Sharp pain on the outside Of my knee. Yes it was hot outside but that was not my problem.

The pain almost brought me to tears but I was determined not to let myself or ky team down. I dug deep and began to think that people that have been key players in my life. That is what kept me going. I only stopped for water but to get going again was hard for the pain was greater on start up. I knew each step was painful but it would get me closer to my goal. I am grateful for my team as they helped me get through the last few miles.

Let’s just say that each of us had our struggle on our 2nd leg. Between the heat and longer miles each of us were dealing with some sort of adversity. It was a humbling experience to watch team members push through each step.


We completed our first relay as a team. I could not have been more proud of my team. Can’t wait for my knee to heal so I can get back to running.

What keeps you motivated?

Leave a Reply

